top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture336Edits

Class of 2023 PF four-star Jacob McFarland List Cut to 9 Schools!


336Edits quotes Jacob on breaking down his Top 9 schools:


Georgia: "Produces NBA players such as Anthony Edwards. New coaching staff there came from Florida and I have a feeling and do believe that they can turn around this season from the previous year. They play in the SEC, which is a fast pace conference and I would say that really benefits me because I'm really good at running the floor constantly. In the zoom meeting I was very impressed with how well everything was put together. Coaching staff I really liked from what I can see. They are close, no one coach thinks they're better than the other and they really rock with each other."


Wyoming: "The first college to have that faith in me and offer me a scholarship. I love the coaching staff, talking with them and always listening to the vision they have for me. Coach Marc and I always talk. He's been giving me advice and stuff, but he's also real with me and treats me like a person. What you see is what you get and I really appreciate all the advice he's given me. Coach Linder has been there for some time and has had success turning the program around since he's been there. Even making them a projected Top 25 team in the country. He plays very solid and hard not giving up and I like that playing style. He will help me develop a lot in the area I need to work on and set high standards for myself which will push me to work harder."


Texas Tech: "Really great program. Plays in the Big 12, which has Kansas and Baylor, who have won a national championship these last couple of years so I will be playing the best of the best. They will help me develop by getting me more involved in the offense. Also will thrive on the defense which they do good in. Been talking with Coach Green and love my talks with him. He seems genuine and even though we've just been in contact already talking about visiting when it's allowed for practices and stuff like that which means something to me."


Colorado: "One of the first high major programs to have interest in me. Always enjoy my talks with Coach Boyle and Coach Grier. On my zoom meeting with them I could tell how family oriented they are which is something I like as well as I could tell they have genuine interest in me. Coach Grier is always sending me videos of what they have that will help me because that NBA caliber player. Plays in the PAC-12 which is really good division so it'll help me get better because playing some of the best programs makes you better as a player."


Providence: "Loved the zoom meeting I had with them. They hit the ball park, answered all my questions and more even before I could ask them. Coaching staff is great. I'm always receiving amazing letters from Coach Battle. Plays on the other side of the country so it'll help me mature faster being away from home. Plays in the Big East and always place high in the conference. Coach Cooley, the head coach, I like how real he is. He keeps it real with me and doesn't just say the right thing he says the truth. He can help develop my skills good over there too."


Houston: "They are a top team too. They play really, really hard which also suites me because I like to run and play fast. Coach Sampson, another amazing coach, coaches hard. You can see by their performances, 20+ wins each season, just speaks for itself. They believe in defense first, which is what I thrive at so that's a plus. They associate and his assistant he's either known for a really long time or are previous players."


Gonzaga: "That's a really good program always high in the tournament, that is coached by Coach Mark Few whose resume speaks for itself. It is an amazing coaching staff that's been there for a long time which speaks a lot. They're really good at developing bigs. One of the best was Chet Holmgren, who had a great season there, from the development they helped him with as well Drew Timme. I liked watching those two a lot last season."


LSU: "LSU, lots of history there. Shaq went there and he's in the NBA Hall Of Fame. Coach Toppert is a really good development coach and will help me develop into an NBA caliber player. The coaching staff was previously at Murray State and had success with Ja Morant so they are capable of producing NBA talent. Also plays in the SEC where's there'd lots of running with suits, my playing style. Another first year team and from what I seen I think Coach McMahon and the staff can turn the program around. Area and school real supportive of the school sports program, so I'll have a great support system."


USC: "Produces a lot of NBA players bigs in particular. Likes to use their bigs a lot in their offense. Close to home so I could see the family a lot. Head coach has been there 11 seasons, which speaks for itself. He's been doing the right thing this whole time. Liked the coaching staff. They all were nice and made it clear they would help me achieve my goal of making it to the NBA and they have the experience with players like me. Moving to the Big 10 so I'll get the travel experience NBA players have a couple years early. Great support system. When I got my offer had lots of support from the Trojan fan base."


Q: What visits do you have set up?

A: "I have three visits set up with Wyoming, Georgia, and Houston and I'm still figuring out the last two. September 2nd I'm going to Wyoming, September 8th Georgia, and September 17th Houston."


Q: What are looking for in a school you pick?

A: "A program that's going help me develop the most on the court as well as off the court stuff. Push me to get better and better everyday. A team that's really meshes with each other even off the court like that family atmosphere. The coaches and the players believe in me and fit my playing style is what I'm looking for."


Q: When do you plan on committing?

A: "Most likely some time in October I wanna sign on the first national signing day."



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page